Trying Not to Get Lost

(a review of The Man from U.N.C.L.E. (2015))

(spoilers)

No greater satisfaction can come than from blowing up some bitch as she threatens to kill your family. I feel like I haven’t hated a movie in long enough; I should rectify that. But in the meantime I round out (for now) my Guy Ritchie section with a small-screen-to-large-screen adaptation of a spy series I had honestly never heard of before now, much like when Dark Shadows came out. Guess I’m too young. The Man from U.N.C.L.E. is a fresh, standalone action film with finely mixed-in comedy, drama, and romance. A very high energy film, you feel pumped up from beginning to end, even through Napoleon Solo’s suave one-sidedness. There was excellent characterization by the two leads, Henry Cavill and Armie Hammer, every word and action nuance bricks building a larger structure. You can’t help but be involved with the characters.

Other than that, I’m a veteran of buddy cop films of all genres, from the good (Lethal Weapon, 21 Jump Street, Bad Boys II) to the not so good (48 Hrs., Cop Out, Another 48 Hrs.), and that’s what this one: another movie with half of its friction derived from two people forced to work together despite their differences. There was bickering, pissing contests, more bickering…

Look, this was good. The action was great, the story was well done (although I will admit I had to rewind a couple times due to how quickly the dialogue shoots out at you), the acting was keen. It reminded me of a lot of the films I grew up on, and made me wish it had come out ten years ago so by this point I could have already watched it several dozen times.

Leave a Reply

